We LOVE sharing good news! Here are this week’s Alief Points of Pride:

  • Olle Middle School was featured in The Children’s Museum NFL Live! Chevron Maker Annex video that was broadcasted at Super Bowl LIVE. This video features Olle STEM Academy students and staff and Superintendent HD Chambers.
  • Kerr High School students were awarded 3 Gold Keys, 1 Silver Key and 8 Honorable Mentions for entries in the 2017 Scholastic Writing Awards Program. If selected, Gold Key winners have the opportunity to be recognized at a national ceremony.
  • Horn Elementary students collected 1,300 canned goods for the food pantry. The school donated 33 boxes of food to families in need.
  • Holmquist Elementary student Sara Abi Saab was recently on Great Day Houston with Deborah Duncan and discussed E-Colors. She shared with the audience how E-Colors has helped her identify her strengths and potential limiters. She also spoke about E-Colors to several business leaders and to the community at the various Houston Super Bowl Host Committee’s Touchdown Tour events.
  • Alief Taylor High School students Nataly Arriaga, Bryan Benitez and Catherine Cantrell are finalists in a national photo competition. Their work will appear in a future edition of Photographer’s Forum Magazine. Their entries in the student competition included performing arts, sports and other journalistic subjects.
  • Fifteen Alief ISD high school student athletes committed to top universities on National Signing Day. Elsik High School students who signed are Soloman Ndukwe (Texas A&M University-Commerce) and Algie Martin (Texas Institute of Agriculture and Technology). Hastings High School students Anthony Ajao (Air Force Academy) and Robert Berrera (Texas Institute of Agriculture and Technology) also signed. Eleven Alief Taylor High School students signed: Emon Pought (Texas A&M University-Commerce), Jeremiah Haydel (Texas State University), Dontay Warren (University of Northern Colorado), Ja’Kobe Johnson (Hardin-Simmons University), Ositadimma Dume (Sam Houston State University), Quinton Lazard (Blinn College), Brodrick Mourning (Blinn College), Eleasah Anderson (Baylor University), Kobie Whiteside (University of Missouri), Abraham Adesipe (Texas A&M University-Commerce) and Collins Ofoegbu (Hardin-Simmons University).